An intuitive introduction to homotopy theory

Today I’m going to give an introduction to homotopy theory – except I’m not going to be incredibly precise; I’ll focus, instead, on developing an intuition for concepts. I’m going to give a bunch of exercises so you can develop these concepts (to some extent) by yourselves.

So without further ado, here’s the link to the PDF file for this blog post: [pdf]. (I’m adding a PDF file because writing this all out in WordPress LaTeX syntax is too time-consuming.)

For those of you who are already familiar with algebraic topology: I’d be grateful to receive comments on this brief exercise-based exposition! How can I develop intuition better? Are there any mistakes that I’ve made?

Have fun,
SKD

Leave a Reply

